Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

CFEC Advisory Board

CFEC logoFor the Statewide Family Engagement Center grant awards, the U.S. Department of Education requires each grantee convene an “advisory committee” for its project, the membership of which includes: parents (who shall constitute a majority of members); education professionals with expertise in improving services for disadvantaged children; representatives of local elementary and secondary schools, including students; representatives of the business community; and representatives of the State Education Agency (SEA) and a Local Education Agency (LEA).

CFEC Advisory Board members will be tasked, from their unique perspectives, to ensure that resources and practices of CFEC address identified needs of the school communities served through the project, and to leverage the benefits these can offer, such as networks, resources, and champions for education and family engagement in schools.

The CFEC Advisory Board will be scheduled to meet at least twice in the first year of the grant (2018-19), and at least once in the four subsequent years of the grant.

CFEC Advisory Board Members

Parent Representatives

Takesha Pollock (Fort Mill) - Upper Central
Sharon Wade (Orangeburg) - Midlands
Tim Meesseman (Aiken) - Central Savannah River Area
Dr. Zenobia Edwards (Florence) - Pee Dee/Coastal
Rosa Fulmore (Charleston) - Lowcountry
Becky Bean (Kershaw) - At-Large
Dr. Myriam Torres (Columbia) - At-Large
Esther Phillips (Greenville) - Upstate

Elementary and Secondary Representatives

Dr. Tara Mack (St. Helena Elementary School, Beaufort) - Elementary
Robert Harris (Richland School District 1) - Secondary
Anijah Dingle (Clarendon 2) - Student
Kelvin Lemon, Jr. (Clarendon 2) - Student

Business Representatives

Cynthia Bennett (SC Chamber of Commerce)

SEA/LEA Representatives

Yolande Anderson (SC Department of Education)
Dena Dunlap (Chester County School District)

Focus Area Representative

Michelle Bryan, Ph.D. (University of South Carolina College of Education) - Diversity and Inclusion